Posted in Bible, Blog, Books, Children, Christ, Christian, Faith, Follow Jesus, God, Gospel, Grandchildren, Jesus, Life, Spirituality, Truth

Seriously?

I was teasing and playing with my littlest granddaughter. She is four. She suddenly turned to me. Her turn had attitude from the position of her head to her toes and included a hang gesture found in teenagers. I know because I’ve seen our thirteen-year-old granddaughter do it. The hand is flattened and goes down in full on sass. And the eye roll!

The little one said, “Seriously, Mimi!”

I see that little love of a brown-eyed girl and the sass from her thirteen-year-old sister in that sass, and then I see her mama. If I am honest with myself, I will see myself in her too. Little by little, generation after generation, we sass. We think we know it all.

This morning, giggling at the thought of her, I soberly realize that little by little, generation after generation, we do that to God. We think we know it all.

We have a heart issues. Seriously, we have the matter of “teshuvah” (i.e., returning to God). We do not want to turn back to God. Little by little, generation after generation we drift farther and farther away from Him.

I played a game with my four-year-old granddaughter. Her response was appropriate and funny. But life is not a game with God. It is not appropriate or pleasing or good to sass or turn away from Him because when you do, that is when your deep heart issues begin!

Author:

My name is Shahe and this blog is a glimpse into some of my passions. I was born in Kabul, Afghanistan. My father is Afghan and my mother is American. I grew up in the US as a Muslim and became a Christian in my twenties. In my quest to find "truth" in who I am, and who God planned me to be, I found a great love and interest in studying my Bible. "Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path." Psalm 119:105 Studying my Bible brought out parts of me that were always "interests" that I have. I have always loved art, architecture, history, and music. I love my children dearly. I love to cook, read, study languages, paint, take photographs, and travel. The Bible opened up worlds for me to explore. I have spent the past two decades traveling to Biblical sites, studying languages, and meeting people with great stories of who they are and who they are in Christ Jesus. The "Persian in me" wanted to know where I came from and who I was. The "Unbeliever in me" wanted to know what truth is, so I started looking. I found "Truth" and His Name is Jesus. The "Believer in me" wanted to know more about God and who He is. The "Seeker in me" found a history rich in the Middle East, full of good food, rich history, beautiful people, and historical sites that kept my seeker-self engaged with the One True God. We have a relationship that is real and authentic. I have found great joy searching my Bible and walking in Israel, Turkey, Persia, Arabia, Greece, Italy, and Jordan. I continue to seek God and to find out how I can become more like Him. Life can be a burden. A life that balances the law of God and faith in God, is one that will bring the carrier of the burdens of life great joy. The Bible says, "I have no greater joy than this, to hear of my children walking in the Truth." (3 John 1:4 NASB) I love my Jesus. I love my husband. I love my children and grandchildren. I love to share with others the rich history of God's plan. I would love to share Him with you. Please be patient with this site as I slowly upload years of photographs and stories to share with you history and "His story." God is good!

One thought on “Seriously?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.